For COVID-19 updates, visit the official government website

From one of the best, to the best
From one of the best, to the best
From one of the best, to the best
From one of the best, to the best
From one of the best, to the best
From one of the best, to the best
From one of the best, to the best
From one of the best, to the best
previous arrow
next arrow


The Langeberg Municipal Council have the executive and legislative authority to make decisions and create laws and policies.

Residents elect political representatives of their local council to serve a 5 year term. The political party seats in council are given according to the percentage of votes that they received in the area as a whole.

Following the local government elections that took place on the 1 November 2021, the Langeberg Municipality has been structured with the embodiment of a Council as follows:

The Municipality is led by an Executive Mayor, ALD SW van Eeden. The Executive Mayor of the Langeberg takes overall strategic and political responsibility for the city.

Van Eeden has been a member of the Langeberg Municipal Council since 2000, when the municipalities amalgamated. His extensive career in politics includes such highlights as serving in the Langeberg and Cape Winelands District municipalities simultaneously (2006-2011), being elected Mayco Member responsible for Infrastructure (2011-2016) and being elected Speaker of the council (2016-2020).

There are 23 councillors with 12 being ward councillors and 11 being proportional representation councillors. The Democratic Alliance (DA) has the majority seats of 10 councillors. The ANC has 6 seats. Another 5 parties also have elected representatives on the council (one GOOD member, one PDM member, one LIP member, one PA member and three F Plus members).

Click here to view the Mayoral Committee 2016 - 2021



Ward Councillor

Each municipality is broken into wards, and the residents in each ward are represented by a ward councillor.

As a mechanism for proper representation and participation from our communities, Langeberg Municipality has 12 elected local Ward Committee Councillors, each responsible to represent the needs of their ward in Council Meetings. Ward councillors are the major link between the municipal government and the residents.


Executive Mayoral Committee

The Executive Mayor may appoint a Mayoral Committee that will assist in making decisions, proposals and plans that have to be approved by council.



Political Heads of Section 80 Committee

Section 80 committees are usually permanent committees that specialise in one area of work and sometimes are given the right to make decisions over small issues. 



Portfolio Committee

Portfolio committees can make recommendations to council for that spesific department and saves the council from having to deal with all matters in detail. Committees do not make final decisions since most decisions need approval by council as a whole.


The Constitution of South Africa gives communities a right to be actively involved in the affairs of a municipality. Ward committees make sure that there is more effective communication between the council and the community.

Each of Langeberg Municipality's 12 wards are divided into approximately ten blocks that are further represented by a community elected Ward Committee member.

The municipality work with a Ward Committee model to encourage public participation processes and reach the community by disseminating information, engaging in consultation and allowing community inputs in municipal decision-making regarding service delivery, developing credible IDPs, policy formulation, budgeting processes and organisational performance.

For this purpose, the Ward Committees of Langeberg Municipality hold various meetings with the community e.g. IDP Community Input Meetings, Ward-based Planning Sessions and ordinary Community Feedback Meetings. 

The role of the Ward Committees in the IDP and Budget process is to: 

• Assist the ward councillor in identifying service delivery challenges and development needs.

• Provide a mechanism for discussion and negotiation between the stakeholders within the ward.

• Advise and make recommendations to the ward councillor on matters and policy affecting the ward

• Disseminate information in the ward and assist with the mobilisat


Community Liaison Workers

The Langeberg Municipality embraces the use of CLWs to strengthen effective, participative democracy in the municipality. The CLW's link with the role of Ward Committees.


Performance Management Committee

The Municipal Systems Act, 32 of 2000, requires the Langeberg Municipality to establish a performance management system that is commensurate with its resources, best suited to its circumstances and in line with the priorities, objectives, indicators and targets contained in the IDP. For the purpose of evaluating the performance of employees, an evaluation panel was established in terms of Section 6.6 of the Performance Agreement.


Municipal Public Accounts (MPAC) Committees

In terms of the provision of Section 79 of the Local Government Municipal Structures Act, 117 of 1998, five MPAC members were appointed to strengthen oversight within the Municipality and to determine the institutional functionality of the Municipal Council in terms of effectiveness.


Internal Audit & Risk Management Unit

The Audit and Performance Committee is an independent advisory body established in terms of section 166 of the MFMA, which is responsible for the oversight of internal controls, risk management, performance information, financial reporting and compliance with regulatory matters.



The Senior Management Team is the key force behind achievement of the municipality’s strategic goals and implement all programmes approved by council.

The Municipal Manager, Mr ASA De Klerk, heads the Langeberg administrative division and provides the link between the political and administrative arms of town government.

The administration has just over 700 employees divided into the Executive Mayoral Office, the Municipal Manager's Office and five directorates - Financial Services, Infrastructure Engineering Development, Corporate Services, Community Services and Strategy and Social Development.The heads of departments and officials are responsible for physically implementing policy.

 Administration Office


Click here to view the organisational structure:

Office of the Municipal Manager

Executive Management Team

   OMT - Directorate Community Services

   OMT - Directorate Corporate Services

   OMT - Directorate Engineering Services

   OMT - Directorate Strategy & Social Development

   OMT - Directorate Financial Services