know your LANGEBERG MUNICIPAL COUNCIL 2021-2026



The Langeberg Municipal Council have the executive and legislative authority to make decisions and create by-laws and policies. Residents elect political representatives of their local council to serve a 5 year term. The political party seats in council are given according to the percentage of votes that they received in the area as a whole.

Following the local government elections that took place on the 1 November 2021, the Langeberg Municipality has been structured with the embodiment of a Council as follows: There are a total of 23 councillors with 12 being ward councillors and 11 being proportional representation councillors.



EXECUTIVE MAYOR ALD. SW VAN EEDEN

The municipal council is led by the Executive Mayor who also takes overall strategic and political responsibility for the Langeberg area.



DEPUTY MAYOR CLLR. JG STEENKAMP

The deputy mayor is a member of the Executive Committee of the municipal council and performs mayoral duties if the mayor is absent.



SPEAKER CLLR. PHESS

The speaker acts as a chairperson at the council meetings, and ensures the compliance of the Council Code of Conduct rules & orders.



WARD 1 & MAYCO: Cllr. C. Steyn (DA) 067 401 3181 CSteyn@langeberg.gov.za



WARD 2 Cllr. L Gxowa (ANC) 060 431 2223 LGxowa@langeberg.gov.za



WARD 3 Cllr P Hess (DA) 074 758 6610 PHess@langeberg.gov.za



WARD 4 Cllr. JJS January (ANC) 076 085 6063 JJanuarie@langeberg.gov.za



Cllr. MG Oostendorff-Kraukamp (DA) 078 086 0962 MKraukamp@langeberg.gov.za



Cllr. DB Janse (DA) 072 030 7436 DJanse@langeberg.gov.za



WARD 7 & MAYCO DAT Felix (DA) 081 762 0018 DFelix@langeberg.gov.za



Ald. SW Van Eeden (DA) 082 788 2234 Burgemeester@langeberg.gov.za



WARD 9 r. Y. Siegel (DA) 083 993 3496 YSiegel@langeberg.gov.za



Cllr. A Ndongeni (ANC) 073 426 1867 ANdongeni@langeberg.gov.za



WARD 11 & MAYCO Cllr. JCJ Coetzee (DA) 082 729 7839 JCoetzee@langeberg.gov.za



Cllr. CJ Pokwas (DA) 082 707 1496 CPokwas@langeberg.gov.za



PR 1 Cllr. C Baartman (ANC) 078 104 2871 cbaartman@langeberg.gov.za



PR 2 Cllr. JS Mafilika (ANC) 063 159 4461 Mafilika@langeberg.gov.za



PR 3 Cllr. LL Kahla (ANC) 071 170 6424 LKahla@langeberg.gov.za



PR 1 Cllr. LJ Prince (DA) 074 810 4947 lprince@langeberg.gov.za



Cllr. JG Steenkamp (VF Plus) 082 554 0863 JSteenkamp@langeberg.gov.za



RHenn@langeberg.gov.za



PR 3 Clir. TV Coetzee (VF Plus) 082 417 8597 TCoetzee@langeberg.gov.za



PR 1 Cllr. CJ Grootboom (PDM) 073 252 4135 CGrootboom@langeberg.gov.za dseptember@langeberg.gov.za



PR 1 Cllr. D September (LIP) 060 433 3192



PR 1 Cllr. SE Rensenburg (PA) 0728263553



PR 1 Cllr. M Gertse (GOOD) 063 009 0519 MGertse@langeberg.gov.za

WARD COUNCILLORS

A ward councillor represents a specific ward on the municipal council and is elected through the "first past the post system" in which the candidate that receives the most votes wins. Ward councillors are the chairperson of their ward committees and must give special attention to their wards.

MAYORAL COMMITTEE

The Executive Mayor may appoint a Mayoral Committee (MAYCO) that will assist in making decisions, proposals and plans that have to be approved by council. The mayoral committee may not consist of more than 10 people or more than 20% of the sitting councillors.

PROPORTIONAL REPRESENTATIVE COUNCILLORS

Proportional Representative councillors represents a political party on the municipal council and are elected through the system of "proportional representation" where the party nominates its candidates on the party list. The number of votes a party receives determines the number of candidates a political party will have